CAL Post Wednesday May 5, 2010 — JEANS DAY TOMORROW!

 

Lucky you... You get to wear jeans tomorrow if you've had no dress code violations (no problems on Friday or Monday)!

Hi KIPPsters,

TOMORROW is JEANS DAY!! Please wear jeans tomorrow unless you had a dress code violation on Friday’s Professional Dress Day or on Monday.

Congratulations on completing day one of your state math test! From the looks of it, you all did an incredible job! In the spirit of accomplishment, let’s focus on the successes of our characters. Please carefully follow the Criteria for Success so that you do not end up with an incomplete homework tomorrow!

CRITERIA FOR SUCCESS

1. Username. Title of book.

2. Tonight I read _____ pages.

3. Note 1. (high quality — you don’t want to end up on the bench!)

4. Note 2.

5. Describe something that has gone well for your character. What is an accomplishment they have had in the book thus far? How did your character make that happen? If very few good things have happened so far, analyze why that is the case. Why hasn’t your character had any successes in the book yet?

Happy reading, happy blogging, and happy jeans day tomorrow!

Love,

Stabookski

24 thoughts on “CAL Post Wednesday May 5, 2010 — JEANS DAY TOMORROW!

  1. Ola2015- Hi this is Ola signing in for my blog on May 5, 2015. Tonight I read up to my suggested partner goal, which is about 45 pages.
    Note:-? – OMG, I CANNOT BELIEVE IT…!!!! ZOEY IS PREGANANT!! Is that why she got nervous and left Tessa to get caught shoplifting? When did this happen? Did she tell her parents? (Pg.177-181)
    Note-AUT- The author surprises the reader with new information that will be used for the rest of the story. What technique is this, Will the author explain it? I also think the author included this part to make the plot and the lesson more interesting and realistic. I am on the edge of my bed reading to know more. (I did not fall off) 🙂
    Umm, well she really hasn’t improved. But on the up side her parents are getting closer. And she is also able to identify her feelings for Adam, which are very positive. I think overall she hasn’t had success because she treats dying like it is never going to happen. She cannot identify her feelings toward her fate. 😦

  2. Ag2015. Th1rteen R3asons Why.
    Tonight I read 31 pages.
    Note 1. Character Shoes: If I were Clay I would of listened to the tapes like he is, but I would have said something not just ignore most of the reasons and the part of him being a reason why.
    Note 2. Question: How does Tony know what it says on the tapes for Clay?

    There isn’t a thing good about the character because of all the suicide and they can’t stop it because it already happened too. To me the haven’t accomplished much and I don’t know how to explain that they haven’t really accomplished much so I feel that its hard for me explain that. They didn’t do anything so I feel I can’t criticize the book. The reason nothing good has happened because this book is about a dead person that left tapes for people to hear and the negative ways she was effected in her life so that is why I think I can’t say they accomplished good things. They have had success but its not positive, Hannah killed herself without being found out and no one knowing why until now, so that’s the only success she made but it wasn’t good.

  3. suni2015- In tonight reading I read the book If you come Softly by Jacqueline woodson. In tonights reading I read a total of 23 pages tonight.

    Note 1: ??- Why is Jeremiah’s father being frustraded that his son spends more quality time with his mother than him self, when he is only bringing people in his house.

    Note 2:??- Why was Jeremiah’s dad procupated that his son will get in sirious trouble if he ran in the white’s people neightborhood?

    Something that has gone well for my character is thet her relatonship is still going on. One accomplish that they had so far was ingnoring everybody like they were just animals. She made that happen by trusting her self into not caring for what other people think about her relationship with Jeremiah. That is probably the case were nobody in their family realize that their children go out with each other. They haven’t had any succes yet because they haven’t figure out a way to make people reason why they can go out.

  4. WHAT IT DO! It’s Rahrah and my book is called, A step from Heaven.

    I read a total of 25 pages.

    1) I believe that Apa needs to go to jail for some what abusing Young Ju by pulling her hair and dragging her across the living room.
    2) I wonder why doesn’t Uhmma stop Apa when she sees him doing this, or why doesn’t she kick him out?

    I believe that Young Ju didn’t have any success right now in the book because all she did was lie and get beat when she did. I predict that she might learn that lying is no good and the truth sal’ set you free amen! But one accoplishment I think she made was learning about her surroundings.

  5. Justin2015. I’m reading The Lighting Thief by Rick Riordan. I read 17 pages.
    Note 1: They are entering the land of the dead and Annabeth and Grover are kind of scared that they will not succssed.
    Note2: When they were getting off the elevator they stared to feel dissy and see though Charon’s head:-(.
    One thing that has gone good for the character’s was when Percy went to the camp he met people that he can make more friends.

  6. burt, my name is brian and i read a total of 54 pages Zeus and Poseidon are being stupid!!! why because its not nobody’s fault that he lost his bolt, and he shouldn’t be fight with poseidon because he lost it. but on the other hand i don’t doughty that poseidon had something to do with Zeus’s lightening bolt, or knows who took it. page 222. i have a prediction that poseidon and the god of the underworld are both in on the losing of the lightning bolt!! page 223. one thing that is going on well for percy is that he takes response ability and that he is mature. also is that he cares about grover and annabeth . also it’s great that he found out that his mother is not dead but alive.

  7. markos2015-i read 36 pages on 13 reasons why by jay asher.
    1.INF:I dont know why Clay is one of the reasons he is very nive becuase he helped a old man.which might mean he helps alot of people.
    2.INF:i dont know why hannah killed herself.she was popular and no one really did anything serious like bully her or hurt her alot.
    nothing really has went well becuase he has to sit and listen to these tapes and he could do somethin else than to listen to this.this might be becuase of people.they treated hannah nice but really they only did it to get something from her. so if they didnt do these things Clay could really be movin on and not deal with a dead person.

  8. Also she has had a couple of family issues. She doesn’t spend much time with her father. Then her and her brother are always fighting. This also leads to her having no success.

  9. Hey guy! It’s DD2015. Tonight I read 43 pages of Before I Die.

    1)?: Will Zoey’s parents find out she was pregnant?

    2) PRE: I thin k her parents are going to find out that she was pregnant because the abortion people might say it’s too late to have an abortion.

    In my book Tessa has really hasn’t made any success. She hasn’t had any success in her book because she has made so many hazardous mistakes.
    Her having sex, doing drugs, etc. This is a good book and I wold recommend it to everyone.

  10. kdozier2015. 13 reasons why.19pages

    1) how does clay feel about hannah dying and he he is one of the reasons why. If i was him i would feel very bad because i must of hurt her in way to make her commit suicide n i would be disapointed in my my self because i problly didnt kno i hurt her alot

    2) how did hannah have time to plan all of this with the tapes and a map and to plan her suicide wit out her mom even finding out

    Theres not really any succssess my chracters had because hes listening to es from a dead person so theres nothing that he can succed in because hes following a map that he has to do with.

  11. I read a total of 22 pages. im reading if i come softly.

    note1: jeremiah seems to be a little bit obessed with ellie because he is always thinking about her. it almost seem like he cant live without her.

    note2: does miah think his relatoinship with ellie is going to last?

    miah is starting to have a better relationship with his father. this helping him to be more of man and be more mature.

  12. kdozier2015. 13 reasons why.19pages

    1) how does clay feel about hannah dying and he he is one of the reasons why. If i was him i would feel very bad because i must of hurt her in way to make her commit suicide n i would be disapointed in my my self because i problly didnt kno i hurt her alot

    2) how did hannah have time to plan all of this with the tapes and a map and to plan her suicide wit out her mom even finding out

    Theres not really any succssess my chracters had because hes listening to tapes from a dead person so theres nothing that he can succed in because hes following a map that he has to do with.

  13. KAYLA2015.TODAY I READ 31 PAGES.

    OPINION_I DONT THINK WHAT MARCUS DID WAS A BIG DEAL BECAUSE HE STILLL CAME. AND HE DIDNT COME ON TIME BECAUSE SHE THOUGHT THAT SHE TOOK IT AS A JOKE BECAUSE WHEN SHE WAS TLKIN TO HIM IT SOUNDED SARCASTIC. WHEN YOU SOUND SARCASTIC IT IS AS THOUGH YOU DONT EVEN CARE. HE THOUGHT THAT SHE WASNT GOING TO SHOW UP.

    INF_NOW I SEE WHY HANNAH GOT UPSET BECAUSE MARCUS STARTED RUBBING UP HER LEGS WHICH MADE HER FEEL UNCOMFORTABLE. YOU CAN ALSO TELL THAT CLAY STILL HAS FEELINGS FOR HANNAH BECAUSE WHEN HE WAS LISTENING TO THE TAPES HE WAS GETTING UPSET ABOUT WHAT MARCUS WAS DOING.

    I DONT THINK THERE WERE ANY ACCOMPLISHMENTS IN THE BOOK SO FAR BECAUSE NO ONE AS A GOAL OR SOMETHING THEY WANT TO ACCOMPLISH. BUT I THINK CLAY CLARIFIED SOMETHINGS ABOUT WHY HANNAH KILLED HERSELF. THRE WERE NO ACCMPLISHMENTS BECAUSE NO ONE KILLED HANNAH AND NOW THEY ARE TRYING TO FIGURE IT OUT. THEY JUST WANT TO KNOW WHAT WERE THE REASONS HANNAH COMMITED SUICIDE.

  14. Janibell2015- Today i read 34 pages. I’m reading This Is What I Did. CS: If i were Logan, i would ignore the boys since all they want to do is see Logan cry or get mad. QUESTION: I wonder why Logan feels bad for Cami if he doesn’t even talk to her anymore? I don’t think Logan has had any successes in the book. I think this is because everyone thinks he’s a bad person. Nobody supports him so this causes him to give up on things easily. Just when he was about to find something he was good at in Boy Scouts, Bruce came along and got him in trouble so that he was then hated by Jack, the leader. Bruce and his gang are preventing Logan from being successful in his social life and in his academic life.

  15. Its KathyV2015 and I am reading If You Come Sotly by Jaqueline Woodson. Tonight i read until the end of this amazing book.

    Note 1: I think Central Park is a symbol of peace because as Jaqueline Woodson describes the way the sun shines and the queitness. Also, in the real world alot of people go to Central Park and relax as much as they could.

    Note 2: If Iwere Jeremiah I would take a break. I would take a break because he began to breath hard and his throat began hurting. Ellie in the hand is also telling him is a bad idea to continue playing. Hes just hurting himself more by doing this.

    Right now i’m neer the end of the book and it intresting. It’s n beginning to end the way i live. By that i mean that Jeremiah is in his basketball game and there is alot of explanation and details tht you feel like you dont want to stop reading.

  16. Keema .T. I am reading the book “A Step From Heaven”by ANNU.I read a total of 28 pages.

    INF: If I were to put my self in Young Ju’s shoes, I would hate to have Apa as my birth father b/c he is very violent.He loves to hit, speak rudely to his own wife and kids.

    ?: Why doesn;t the author make Uhmma and Apa devorice , to show that new begnnins don’t always have ta good middle and end.

    I would say lying has gone well for Young Ju ,she constanly lies and doesn’t get cought.I think an accomplishment that Youg JU has done is adapting well to the new Mi Gook life.I think she made this capabke by just watching her surroundings.

  17. krod2015. This is What I Did. Ann Dee Ellis. Tonight i read 31 pages. All i need is like 20 more pages to finish the book.

    Notes1:Question: Does Zyler’s father have problems? I asked this question because he was hitting his son a lot, and then he grabbed Cami and started ripping her shirt off. And now he would start screaming a Zyler at random moments, for no type of reason.

    Note2:Retell: So far in the pages between 125-141 the book has been full of actions. During these pages, Zyler’s father starts getting crazy. He was screaming at Zyler and then he sexual assault Cami. Which she then gets scared and runs away. Then Zylerends up almost killing his father, then the police start looking for Zyler because he ran away, of getting scared. And more problems has been happening between pages 125-141.

    Something good that has happened to Logan is that Cami kind of liked him back then and now Laurel maybe likes him too. I think Logan’s accoplisment was that he met new friends, or maybe his goal was to be in the play. Logan made this happen by him not giving up. Ok, well i guess i’ll finish the book tomorrow. 🙂

  18. This is jbennett2015 and I reread about 20 pages so my partner won’t feel left out.

    1. Jacqueline Woodson is in, my opinion, a great author because you’d never expect that a main character would end up dying. That is bizzarre but kind of unusual.

    2. When does Ellie find out that Jeremiah is dead? That’s also something Jacqueline Woodson could’ve done.

    Ellie’s achievement was that she expressed her feelings around Miah but obviously he’s dead which is not an achievement.

  19. Hi it’s Miladys and I read 36 pages.
    TTS:Hannah is like me in a way both of us like to hear gossip as long as it is not about us which make the fact worse that she killed herself because of all the terrible things people said about her. She does not like it that people do it to her but she does the same.
    THEME:Hannah had one bab experence with Justin and it made her feel that all men are the same, that why she pushed Clay away. It showes how much one person can effect you.
    Clay has not been able to accomplished much because he feels guily for having to lie to the wife of the old men saying he was okay after the car crash and not stopping Hannah for killing her self.

  20. Hi my name is Adrian. 13 R3asons Why. Tonight I read 36 pages.

    INF: I think it was very brave of Clay to save the old man. But why is Tony driving him back to that place.

    CHARCTER: Tony is a very mature teenager because when Clay told him about the tapes and Hannah his reaction was simple and not over.

    Something that went well for my character is that his reason why Hannah killed her self wasn’t that big as the others. They have not accomplished anything yet for some wierd reason. He has not made anything happen. He hasn’t had any success because he is listening to why Hannah killed herself.

  21. leah2015 The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan to night I read 54 pages.

    NOTE 1:(pg222)I think that Zeus and Poseidon are being stupid!!! Because they’re fighting over nothing. Zeuse had lost, well someone stole it, his master bolt,and thinks Poseidon took it. Now thinking back in the book Zeuse said that he thinks that Poseidon took it to make copies of it under water. But my thoughts on that topic is that, if Zeus isn’t sure that Poseidon took it then don’t blame any one.

    NOTE 2:(pg223) It’s interesting how Luck thinks that Hades, the god of the underworld, took the master bolt.When to me it seems that he doesn’t even know his facts about the gods. Percy had proven him wrong that it couldn’t have been Hades, because a god can’t take another god’s magic directly, and he learned that from Chiron.

    Some thing that has gone well for Percy is that he founs out from the god of war, that his mother isn’t dead, she is being held captured. An accomplishment that Percy has had was that he svaed Grover,Annabeth,and himself from dying in a pool of robot spiders, and from being smashed to peices with the boat they were on with the robot spiders.He made that happen by telling Grover to fly up to the control pannles and turn on the water, also by telling Annabeth that they need to jump onto to gate to live.(from being smashed into peices.)There were a few parts in the book where Percy has has had no luck, because he and Grover along with Annabeth kept getting cought in the gods’traps. But sooner or later they find their way out of it.

Leave a Reply

