UNC Post – May 2, 2010 – Sunday

Hi KIPPsters!

I hope everyone had a great weekend! This is our first Sunday post as a whole class, and I am looking forward to seeing fantastic results and 100% completion of the blog homework. Please carefully follow the Criteria for Success.

CRITERIA FOR SUCCESS

1. Username. Title of book.

2. This weekend, I read a total of __________ pages. I completed/did not complete the pages for my partner book reading goal.

3. One of your best notes from the weekend: Either a great discussion question or a great inference.

4. Another of your best notes from the weekend.

5. A line you love from the book. Copy the line WORD FOR WORD. Be careful to properly spell and punctuate the line. Tell me the page number.

6. Explain why you chose that line. Be specific. Explain it in at least 4 sentences.

Happy Sunday, happy reading and happy blogging!

Love,

Stabookski

26 thoughts on “UNC Post – May 2, 2010 – Sunday

  1. The title of my book is The Lightning Thief. This weekend, I read a total of 73 pages. I completed the pages for my partner book reading goal. My first note was a prediction. I predict that Percy would act differently in the future after realizing that his latin teacher is a horse. My second best note was a question. Is Percy a troubled kid because of the dissaperence of his mother? The line I loved was “Percy Jackson is a troubled child who has been kicked out of numerous boarding schools and has expressed violent tendencies in the past.”The reason I like this line is because it’s the main idea of the expostion. Also, it shows the kind of character Percy is. Obviously, he is a juvenile deliquent. This shows that Percy can’t control his actions. Somehow, I can relate to Percy.

  2. Hey it is Elianny2015. This weekend I read 40 pages of Kendra. I did meet my reading goal. Note 1: I think that Nana is going to talk to Renee and she is going to step in for good. Note 2: One issue that is coming up is abandonment from family member. “It’s weird because even though I know what’s happening, can feel every thing, I am not really there.” One reason I like this line is because it shows a vague moment. Kendra is having an intense moment with him and still can’t believe it is happening. She is actually having sex with this kid. This is when her mom needs to show her how this might cause her to do the things she doesn’t want to do or that she might regret later.

  3. Julio2015: The book that I read is The Lightning Thief, and I read 60 pages, and I did read every single page of what I had to read. One of my best notes was that Percy Jackson was not afraid of the monster. He was not showing fear of any thing and anyone. Rick Riordan is making me infer that Percy Jackson is a brave teenager. To me Percy Jackson is a brave teen, and is a half-blood not afraid of anything. My second note is a question: Was he really afraid of the monster? I know that e wasn’t , but he should alot of fear and he got really nervous when he fighted the monster. My favorite line of the book is that ” Percy skippeted a heart bet when he saw the 2 girls crossing the street”. I like this line because it’s humorous . It also shows how Percy Jackson is becoming a man. He’s becoming to relise that he is more than just a half-blood, that he’s a real person with feelings. Percy Jackson is really changing.

  4. Julio2015: The book that I read is The Lightning Thief, and I read 60 pages, and I did read every single page of what I had to read. One of my best notes was that Percy Jackson was not afraid of the monster. He was not showing fear of any thing and anyone. Rick Riordan is making me infer that Percy Jackson is a brave teenager. To me Percy Jackson is a brave teen, and is a half-blood not afraid of anything. My second note is a question: Was he really afraid of the monster? I know that e wasn’t , but he should alot of fear and he got really nervous when he fighted the monster. My favorite line of the book is that ” Percy skippeted a heart bet when he saw the 2 girls crossing the street”. I like this line because it’s humorous . It also shows how Percy Jackson is becoming a man. He’s becoming to relise that he is more than just a half-blood, that he’s a real person with feelings. Percy Jacjson is really changing

  5. Hello Orlando G 2015 here. over the week end i read a total of 141 pages 47 per night .Right now i am in page 235.During my reading i had 2 questions come in to my mind the whole entire time.
    Why did Suzanne Collins write such a graphic novel that at the same time causes great imagery and immense amount of pain if you put your self in katniss’s shoes ?
    I think that katniss is great brave honest person because if you weren’t committed enough to such a dangerous “GAME”. I think that takes a lot of heart and passion to first substitute someone then give it your all to survive and win.
    my favorite line is in page180 it says”despite the pain,drowsiness begins to take over.I’d take to a tree and try to rest , except I’d be to easy to spot.besides,abandoning my pool seems impossible.”This is good line because it describe how katniss lives through out these games almost in a sense of fear all the time but she is brave.it also shows how she need to always have and open eye because a blink can cause her her life.it also shows how responsible katniss is almost as if she had everything planned.

  6. This weekend i read a total of 60 pages and i did compelete our reading goal.Best note1:i figured out that Logan has a lot of people who hate him like,Cami (which i read about while he was in a store) hates him(PG41).Note2:Logan really cares for what his mom does because she was buying a product that make you loose weight and he was asking a whole bunch of questions.One line that i love from my book is:”I am so sorry” (PG68).I like this line because it shows that Logan really thinks about his actions and cares for what he does.

  7. i am reading, this is what i did.today i read a total 58 pages.
    1TSS:i can connect to them because at first they really good friends and they got along really well, and i have people that we are really good friends and them we argue and we all get mad at each other. all of his friends are all mad at each other.
    2INF: i see that logan gets agravated when he’s talked to in a way he doesn’t like.i can see this because Brunce talks to him in a bad and logan quickly snapped.
    “but every one screamed and bruce fell”, i really liked this line because i dont really think that he fell i think is was just an exsagaration to say that all the screaming threw him. 🙂

  8. Hi this is JR again. Over the weekend I read 75 pages of The Lightning Thief.
    1.Percy had overheard the gods talking about something very important being stolen. Also, he was very frustrated when the the gods were filling his head with information. His dyslexia went into place and he said that he felt “mentally overloaded”(p.99).
    2.Grover explains to Percy that there are minor gods that will try to mess up his journey. One god is Nemesis, the god of revenge. Now Percy knows that there is a big challenge awaiting him on his journey(p.114).
    A Line I Love: “The game was over. We’d won. I was about to join the celebration when Annabeth’s voice, right next to me in the creek, said, “Not bad, hero”. I looked, but she wasn’t there”(p.123).
    Why?: I chose this line because he knows that Annabeth will always be with him even in his mind. It gives him more confidence in what he is doing. The game helped him prepare for the adventure and now he knows he is ready. I’m interested in how he will handle this task and how he will do it.

    JRICH………………OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  9. … im back but i am starting all over again because i made a few errors.=]) Emanie2015. The Lightning Theif. Rick Riordan. I read a total of 75 pages over the weekend. I did complete the goal with my partners. A great disscustion question that my partners and I came up with, is that Percy had been in alot of trouble in school and out of school. An example of that is that his car exploded. Also, when he went on the field trip, he gets in trouble there to. Another note over the weekend that I liked was that I made an infrence, i think that even though the teacher is a horse, she is going to be treated differently. “I yelled, STOP IT! STOP FIGHTING! The ground shook. Laughter came from somewhere under the earth, and a voice so deep and evil it turned my blood to ice. Come down, little hero, a voice crooned. Come down! The sand split beneath me, opeaning up a crevice straight down to the center of the earth. my feet slipped, and darkness swallowed me. I woke up, sure I was failing. I was still in bed in the cabin three. My body told me it was morning, but it was dark outside, and thunder rolled across the hills” (page.130). The reason I chose this quote is because it shows how when something goes wrong there is always one or two people always tring to make it better and alot of people get mad at other people for tring to make the problem better. This quote is also good because it also shows how the books genre is fiction. The reason i also chose this quote was because it had really good metaphore in the story. Another reaosn i choose this book is because i think that the author was tring to exagerate a little bit because it says that the noise came from undergroung and i dont think that a noise can come from underground unless you are deaming or imaginating something.

  10. emanie2015. The Lightning Theif. Rick Riordan. This weekend i read a total of 110 pages over the weekend. i did complete the goal with my partners. A great disscustion question that me and my partners came up with is that Percy had been in alot of trouble in school and out of school. An example of that is that his car exploded. Also, when he went on the field trip, he gets in trouble there to. Another note over the weekend that i liked was that i made an infrence, i think that even though the teacher is a horse, she is going to be treated differently. (im going to continue at home =]) bye

  11. temarald2015. i am reading the book Thirteen reasons why .i had completed the total reading that i had to do that night i have read 42 pages.over the weekend i had a question about how hannah feels she must blame everyone else in her life for the pain she has been through, do you agree that everyone in hannahs life caused her to kill her self.the guidence counsler in my opinion is not very smart because he does not really help hannah.”we only had one night and by the end of that time it felt like i’v knowen her even less. “page183.i like this quote because it shows how clay finally sees that there is more to haannah then what thwy knowen.

  12. This weekend, i read a total of 57 pages. I completed my partner reading goal. NOTE1: This connects to the world, because many kids out there don’t appreciate what there parents give them. NOTE2: I predict thatr percy and his family are ging to make a better decision abouthis education status and his personal issues/problems. LINE I LOVE: ” yes, but but hades hates all heroes.” Grover protested, pg 143. The reason i lk this line is because it expresses what the character is trying to say. Also it kind of tells whatr is going on in the book. The line really illustrates what the character is feeling. Lastly the line is full of thoughts.

  13. sammy2015: I am reading If You Come Softly by Jacqueline Woodson. This weekend, I read 58 pages in my novel. I completed the pages for my partner book reading goal. Note 1: INF- People semm to judge others by their family. Jeremiah’s parents travel, with him, but he seems to be shy to tell others about his life is. (pg.66) Note 2: Question for author – Why does Jacqueline Woodson change the narration through out the book in just rnadom chapters? (pg. 78)
    A line I love is a saying Jeremiah’s father used to say. He said “Change is a good thing. Think of it like seasons. You don’t want to stay one way all your life and have moss grow under your toes” (Woodson 65). I chose this line because it to me, it means to change. It means that nothing should be the same forever but there should be something new or different. Jacqueline Woodson shows that change is good. There should be a change or something new. Some people say the old is good and others say the new but to Jacqueline Woodson, she seems to choose the new. I agree with her. Maybe a change she may show has to to do with race.

  14. My user name is jasonb2015. I’m reading “Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins. This weekend, I read a total of 53 pages. I completed the pages for my partner book reading goal.
    Note 1: (Inference) Katniss still doubts Peeta and thinks that her wants to kill her, but in my opinion, Peeta seems to like Katniss and tries to approach her, while Katniss ignores Peeta.
    Note 2: (Discussion Question) How will Peeta and Katniss’s “friendship” change over time and how will it affect the winning of the Hunger Games?
    A line I love in “The Hunger Games” is, “Peeta is planning how to kill you, I remind myself. He is luring you in to make you easy prey. The more likable he is, the more deadly he is. But because two can play at this game, I stand on tiptoe and kiss his cheek. Right on his bruise” (Collins 72). I particularly love this line because it shows just how complicated Katniss and Peeta’s friendship really is. Sometimes they seem to hate each other, but at times they show affection for one another.Suzanne Collins does reveal the message that even when it may feel that one has hate for another person, their heart is who decides what they truly feel for that person. Katniss doesn’t allow her heart to speak for what she truly feels for him. Instead, she denies it and keeps her true feelings locked.

  15. This weekend, I read 90 pages. I met my reading goal.
    Note 1:Clay followed every instruction Hannah told the people on the list in the tapes. He says it isn’t of obsession, but of the need to understand the story completely. I personally think that Clay wanted to find a way to be close to Hannah [with her being dead and all].
    note 2:Did Skye do the same as Hannah did during the time between 8th grade and now in the book?
    Does she hide her body to rid herself of further scandal?
    My favorite line from the book so far is:”Part of that plan is to move us away from the counter toa booth near the back. Near the pinball machines.With me on the inside.
    Me, sandwiched between him…and a wall.”
    I like this line because of its sound. [it sounds so dirty]This makes me think that Hannah is the type of person that has-had- no limits…[so dirty…;D]

  16. Lourdes2015- I am reading The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. This weekend, I read about 80 pages. I met my goal. 
    Note1: Discussion question- How will Katniss’s skills to surviving in District 12 help her in the Hunger Games? (pg74)
    Note2: INF- There were 13 districts controlled by the country Panem. District 13 was eliminated after the Dark Days happened. This was the time when all of the districts wanted to be out of the control of Panem. This seems to remind me of the point in history when there were 13 colonies controlled by England. In this story, the districts lost and were punished with the Hunger Games. This might be the author’s idea of what would’ve happened if the colonies lost and how they would’ve been punished. (pg106). 
    The line I love is: “My slumbers are filled with disturbing dreams… I bolt up screaming for my father to run from the exploding mine… my toungue probes the ragged flesh and I taste blood.” pg 86. I like this quote because it shows the mood of the story clearly right now. It also shows her emotions toward the death of her father and how much it still coninues to effect her.    

  17. diamond 2015. Before I Die by Jenny Downham. Tonight I read 42 pages and I completed my goal.
    Note1: I can visualize Tessa and Zoey having a fight over drugs.(pg.87)
    Note2: I can infer that since Zoey and Tessa got high,they don’t know what they are doing so they don’t know they might get into trouble.(pg97)
    The line I loved was “The glass between us warps to accomodate his anger. I back away in amazment and awe.”
    This is my favorite line because it shows how someone can do things to make another person really mad and just don’t really care about it. Since the person doesn’t care, there will be other problems. Those problem can lead to the person mad to get furious and change the way they act. Tessa could just want that to happen.

  18. This weekend I read 100 pages and I did meet my partner reading goal.
    Note 1: Why would anyone want to be sick especially with cancer? Is it fun to know that you are going to die?
    Note 2: Tessa is now seeing how serious it is all 3 of her family are at the hospital together for the 1st time and she in the hospital again.
    Line I Love: “It feels very cold watching her cry,…” page 129. I like this line because it shows how much friends can love each other. It shows me that even when friends make mistake that they still love each other and it hurts them to see the other cry. It also shows me that sometimes we do things without even knowing that it will hurt other people. Still I know that because they have such a great connection that they will stay friends and Zoey will still help Tessa.

  19. Angeline2015: The Hunger Games by: Suzanne Collins. This weekend I read a total of 53 pages. I completed the pages for my partner book reading goal.
    one note: inference: Based on what I read, I could see Katniss has never shaved before, and she feels uncomfortable when the ladies are shaving/touching her.(pg.62).
    Second note: Character shoe: Katniss feels uncomfortable when her stylist walks around her while she’s naked. If I was her, I would also feel uncomfortable. I think she should say what she feels instead of looking grossed out. I also think they should of gave her a girl not a boy for stylist.(pg.64).
    A line i love is: ” It’s beautiful. Classic really. And in almost perfect balance with your profile. She has very clever fingers”(pg.64). I chose this line because it makes Katniss feel good and it shows a moment in her life where she actually feels good about herself. She could feel like a person with no problem and happy about going back home with something to hand her family.

  20. kayla2015.Before i Die.This weekend i read 50 pages and i have an inference. Jenny Downham shows that Tessa wants to grow up faster and be more curious about what her friend, Zoey, does. And one question i have is when is Tessa gonna realize that everything she is doing is wrong and that she just wants to grow up fast. A line from the book i really like is “At night, the trees bang on my window like they are trying to get in. I am surrounded. I know it.p.133.” I chose this line because in that moment, it really made the moment intense and showed that Tessa feels really tense now. Also it really describes what Tessa is going through in her life.

  21. Gianni2015. The Lightneing theif. Rick Riordon. This weekend i have read 60 pages in total. I have completed my partner goal. How does Percy really feel that alot of people that he knew had to kkeep him from finding out who he actually was? How did he rreally feel on the inside. I think that Percy really cares about people because he seems like a very sincere poerson. ” I wanted to protest. None of what happened was Grovers fault. I also felt really guilty. If I had’nt given Grover the slip at the busstation,he might not have gotten in trouble.” I chose this line because it shows that Percy really does care about people. It also shows that he doesn’t hold a grudge

  22. Genesis2015.If You Come Softly.This weekend I read a total of 40 pages.I did complete the number of pages required for my partner reading. An inference note is on page 91, Ellie’s mother wanted her to have more freedom at her age instead of being home reading.Her mother takes freedom as going to the movies,going to meseums and hanging out with her friends more often.Another note is on criticizing the author:On page 65, I liked how the author makes Jeremiah’s grandma say a lot of figurative language,or when Jeremiah remembers her talking. A line I loved was when Jeremiah said “But I was sitting next to her in class today-and I don’t know-I felt like we…like we should always be next to eachother.I don’t know”(page89).I like this line because this line shows that Jeremiah has feelings for the girl he likes.I also like this line because it shows that Jeremiah knows that the girl he likes is the one that would make him happy.This line show that many people can realize if that person is the person that they know would make them happy by doing what Jeremiah did and express thier feelings with someone.Finally, I like this line because Jeremiah thinks that something is stopping him from loving her and the reason is that she’s white.

  23. This week I have read that in Lighting Thief Percy is really mad at the fact his father left him as a baby. But, I dont think there is any reason to get mad because he does not even know who his father is and by the way he is the father of Olympos and he never really sees his son. I would have propbably be in the same situation. Another situation that is going on in the book with Percy is that he does not to go or even be in the camp that he was sent to. When he got there he felt like he did not belong there and he did not even know why he was there also he felt like he did not even fit in with those kids because at first he did not know what he can do he thought he had no powers.

Leave a Reply

