PACE Post – April 28, 2010 – First Whole Class Post

Hi KIPPsters!

Congratulations on finishing all of your ELA testing, and welcome to the blog! (For those of you who are new to blogging :)) Today, let’s keep it as simple as possible. Copy your 2 favorite notes, then, for your skill, briefly tell me your opinion of your book so far. Provide details. Follow the Criteria for Success below:

1. Your username (first name2015 — like this: Ashley2015). Title of book. Author of book.

2. Tonight I read ______ pages.

3. Note 1: (copy your favorite note from your reading here)

4. Note 2: (copy your second favorite note from your reading here)

5. In 2-3 sentences, give me your opinion of your new partner book so far. What do you think? Do you like it? Why? Why not? Give as many details as possible.

That’s it! Happy reading and happy blogging!

Love,

Stabookski

38 thoughts on “PACE Post – April 28, 2010 – First Whole Class Post

  1. Tonight I read 38 pages to catch up to my partner, Anthony. My book is This Is What I Did by Ann Dee Ellis.

    Note 1 (Character’s Shoes) If I were Logan and i lived near a bully, i think i would’ve told someone he was a bully. Logan on the other hand just takes Bruce’s threats and lets Bruce and his friends bother him.

    Note 2 (Question) Why does Ann make Logan not speak up for himself in the book? Why does Ann make Logan have such a low self esteem?

    I don’t really like this book so far. I feel that i cant relate to it because i don’t get what it is to be a 13 yr old boy who gets bullied and lives in the suburbs. I think this book will get better soon. Well, at least i hope.

  2. Tonight I read a total of 36 pages. My book is 13 reasons why, by Jay Asher. Note 1.(question) why is clay opening the box when she know its not hers and it says Hannah baker? Note 2. I can infer that Hannah is probably on her way to death because clay had just sent the shoe box!!!My partner is Marien Morales .my book is ok so far. I think this book is going to get interesting towards the middle! Jay Asher is a very creative author because the map inside of the book gives you an idea of the books current environment.

  3. Angely2015: Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. Tonight I read 48 pages.

    Note1: what was the thing that Gale wanted her to remember before the Peacekeepers took him away? I made that note on page 40.

    Note 2: I think that Katniss and Gale make a lot of sacrifices for their families because in order to get food in a time of need, they entire their names several of times in the hunger games. Gale enters his name 42 times, and Katniss enters her name 20 times even though Prim gets chosen for the hunger games. I made this note on page 13.

    My opinion about this book when you first assigned it to me was its going to be boring! Well at the beginning of the book it is really confusing and boring. But, when you get deeper into the book you realize the purpose of it also i like this book because it’s based on something that would never happen in the, which makes the book interesting to know what will happen next :]….this book is really long. : [

  4. I read 45 pages of Before I Die by Jenny Downham.

    Note 1: While he undressed her and was saying that he loves her does he really love her or does he just want to have sex?

    Note 2: I don’t think that Tessa should go to the boys house and have sex. She hasn’t even met the guy completely. If having sex is so important she should wait at least 2-3 days to met the guy a little better.

    I like Before I Die because it keeps me very interested in my book. I like that it makes me feel like I am there in the book. Sometimes though, it gets hard to read because when the characters are talking it doesn’t always say “said …”. As long you can keep track of the dialogue the book is great to read.

  5. I read 45 pages of Before I Die by Jenny Downham.

    Note 1: While he undressed her and is telling her that he loves her, does he really or does he just want to have sex?

    Note 1: Maybe Tessa shouldn’t go to the guys house to have sex. She hasn’t even completely met the guy. If having sex is so important to her she should wait 2-3 days to met the guy at least 2-3 days.

    I like my book a lot it keeps me very interested in the book. I like that it makes me feel like I am there. Though sometimes it gets hard to understand who is talking because each line doesn’t say “said…” but as long as you keep up with the dialogue the book is very good to read. The book is very creative and has its own sense of style which like a lot about a book because it is not the same as every other book.

  6. Tonight I read a total of 36 pages.

    note 1:The package of tapes are of Hannah Baker’s death tapes and they are explaining the 13 reason why she died to the 13 people she killed herself for specific reasons. this is is being sent around to only the people’s whose names are on the cassette.(inference)

    note2:the narration of this story is 1st person because in the story Hannah is talking and when she is talking in the cassette about herself and others and is reffering to the people that are listening to the tape so this also shows that the story is in third person because the people listening pause the cassette and they also explain their opinion on what the cassette is saying and their feedback.(narration)

    SO far i like the book but i think that it is a little bit confusing because your not always clear on what going on, who is speaking, and who is being talked about or spoken too. I think this book is a mature book and only certain indivdials can read that book because it is a serious book!

  7. marien2015: Tonight I have read a total of 36 pages from 13 Reasons Why , by Jay Asher .

    My first favorite note is a text to self connection(TTS) : If I were Clay , the main character , I would have never opened up the box even though I was curiouse . I say this because the box even looked suspiciouse at the beginning .

    My second favorite note is a prediction : I predict that Clay is going to end up becoming verry paronoid because of the tapes. I think that he will end up compleatly blaming himself for Hannah’s death.

    So far I have really enjoyed my book . One reason why is because of the way the story is writen. For example , while the tapes are being said , Clay takes a momment nd gives his opinion . Another reason why I like this book is because it holds a lot of susspense. Lastly , I have enyjoyed this book so far because each character is introduced with there own story behinde it .

  8. If You Come Softly by Jacqueline Woodson
    I read 23 pages

    Note 1: Why does Jeremiah worry about his skin color? He’s suppose to live life no matter what color he is or what people say.

    Note 2: I like the way Jacqueline Woodson writes her books about people’s struggles and experiences through life.

    My partner book is going good because i like the way the characters are trying to overcome the struggles in life. They each have some type of struggle that they’re scared of overcoming, but at the end it’ll be solved. For example, Ellie asked her mother why would she leave and leave her family behind.

  9. Salutations =D. AnthonyP here, book i am reading which is freaking hilarious is “This Is What I Did” by Ann Dee Ellis. I read up to page 19. My partner on this book is Clarrisa.

    Note 1.. if only i can find my notebook… aha! – Quote… “Last week Bruce kicked me in the balls at Scouts…” – Why did the author choose to insert this as the first sentence of the book? What was he hinting out?

    Note 2 – The Author was hinting at us that Bruce will have trouble reproducing since that must’ve been a very hard kick.

  10. Hi! I’m Samaiyah2015 and I am reading the Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.
    Note 1-so far, the book doesn’t seem futuristic, but those who have readi t have basically said that the elements of fantasy are very obvious.

    Note 2-this book has either sarcastic humor or sick and twisted humor that is kind of unappealing; at least to me.
    I’m not too sure if I like the book. It has started off really slow, but I don’t know if that is similar to the whole book or if it just starts off that way.

  11. If You Come Softly by Jacqueline Woodson
    I read 23 pages

    Note 1: Why does Jeremiah worry about his skin color? He’s suppose to live life no matter what color he is or what people say.

    Note 2: I like the way Jacqueline Woodson writes her books about people’s struggles and experiences through life because people can connect to them.

    My partner book is going good because I like the way the characters are trying to overcome the struggles in life. They each have some type of struggles that they’re scared of overcoming, but at the end it’ll be solved. For example, Ellie began to ask her mother questions on why she left and left her family alone.

  12. If You Come Softly by Jacqueline Woodson
    I read 23 pages

    Note 1: Why does Jeremiah worry about his skin color? He’s supposed to live life no matter what color he is or what people say .

    Note 2: I like the way Jacqueline Woodson writes her books about people’s struggles and experiences through life.

    My partner book is going good because I like the way the characters are trying to overcome the struggles in life. They each have some type of struggle that their scared of overcoming, but at the end it’ll be solved. For example, Ellie began to ask her mother questions on why she left and left her family alone .

  13. Gabriel2015: This is What I Did by Ann Dee Ellis

    Tonight i read 30 pages in my book.

    Note 1: I can tell that Logan gets beat up a lot beacuse when Jack had him hit him in the areas that a man should never be hit, he just took it and did not do anything to stop him or to defend himself.

    Note 2: I dont think that Logan’s parents are the best role models of parents because they talk about their highschool lives and how they would go out with other people (as in Dad going out with a whole bunch of Mom’s “best friends”) to get to eachother.

    I currently like This is What I Did because it keeps me interested in how Logan deals with his problems. I dont like how he won’t tell his parents about his problems because they might be able to help (most likely able to help).

  14. Note1: If I were Katniss i would never be able to get over my father.I wouldn’t be able to because its hard letting go someone that you love. Another thing is that I saw him die,and that is something that will irritate me because it hurts wanting to see someone you lost.I would never be able to forget how I lost him because its just hard to lose someone your always around and know that loves you too.

    Note2: I predict that the “peacekeepers” will start a fight with Katniss because they’re always hunting and are usually hungry. Also Katniss is a person that gets into alot of trouble especially since she’s always breaking rules and tresspassing. I know that Katniss will begin to fight and not let it go.

    So far i really like my book because its interesting.I heard from many KIPPsters that the book is unique and very interesting.It wasn’t my first choice because I wasn’t really interested in the book, but now that im reading it i changed my mind.Im looking forward to what will happen in the book

  15. Arsthly2015: If You Come Softly by Jacqueline Woodson
    Tonight I read 23 pages.
    Note1: Jacqueline Woodson always starts her books off with a poem. This poem usually has the title of the book in it, and has to do with where Woodson got her inspiration.
    Note2: β€œyou’re a black man. You’re a warrior.”- I think that Jeremiah’s dad is trying to tell him about racism in a way where he will not be hurt and shocked, but will understand what he is trying to explain.
    I think that my partner book so far is good. I think that this book is something that all of us can relate to because it is about relationships in school. I like it because it is humorous, but still has serious moments. For example, when Ellie talks about Jeremiah it funny because of his grandmother, but the conversation about racism with his dad is not.

  16. jerick2015: 35 pages read from The Lightnning Thief.

    Note 1: Why does percy want to deck nancy in her face and why are they sitting next to each other?- pg. 3.
    Note 2:i can connect to this, because sometimes i really get mad when people laugh at me when i dont get somethimg correct. pg.- 6

    I am liking my book so far. Although is a little bit boring i believe through out the book im going to get into it. I am looking forward to finishing the book in a good thoughtx3

  17. tts:i can connect to him to many in many diffrent. when i was in 4th grade they use to make fun of mi becuase i use to triped a lot.so i can connnect to the bulliness.

    ?: How were they only sex friends? Didi this affect his parents relationship or him,or maybe both?

    i am enjoying my new partner reading book. i think is a very good book and i think im very mature for it. It has a lot of adult launguage. I think im looking forward to have a good time with this book.

  18. Kai2015:
    Note 1: I think that when Logan goes to scouts he is a whole different person, and I guess that’s because he is around Bruce so he is kind of scared.Bruce always bullies him and Logan is always afraid to tell his dad which is one of the things I dont understand about Logan.
    Note 2: My book is organized by the speakers name on the side and then what they said instead of quotation marks, i dont like this way because after a while of reading the book its annoying to keep looking and searching for who is speaking.
    I like my partner book so far because it it humorous and tense, im always tense to see what will happen to someone in the book;). I look forward to finishing this book and finding out the end.

  19. aneli2015:46 pages read from Hunger games.

    Note 1: Why does Katniss feel that she will never have children? Why doesnt she want to have children? What exactly are her feelings towards children?

    Note 2: I think that the author shpuld live more in the present or future instead of living in the past and remembering the past. The author should also add more voice to the characters to give each one their specific individual personality.

    So far my thoughts about the Hunger Games is that it is interesting because I can already tell that it is like no book that I have ever read before. It is not exactly what I expected it to be, but its okay. πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

  20. The title of my book is If You Come Softly by Jacqueline Woodson. Tonight i read 30 pages of my new book.

    Note 1: The book is written in first and third person. Sometimes the book just focuses on Jeremiah and sometimes Elisha tells her story.

    Note 2: We learn that Elisha’s mother ran out on her family twice and since Elisha is in the 10th grade, she feels like she can talk about it with her mother.

    Although this wasn’t my first choice, i do like this book, but then again i don’t. I like it because Jacqueline Woodson often write how children change the opinion of others in thier time period. I don’t like it because the narration is confusing. It is had for me to get use to the stoty shifting from first person to third person.

  21. This is kimberly 2015 i read 30 pages tonight
    i took a text to self connection it was Latoya Hunter looks at the world as if it every hard to get things done ,to succeed her dreams .i can connect that because i have wonderful dreams about a different world . But when i wake up its the same .i also did a character shoes , it was Ican put myself in Latoya shoes because she is the type of girl that enjoys attending parties .But she also knows that herr parents are very strict and always want the best of her. i think that this partner book is really interesring because i get to understand the book more and i get to connect to it .

  22. Note1: Right now in my new book, the setting is taking place in a post office were a girl who commited suside is giving her tape away the reasons why it happened.
    Note2:The secoand character i meet in the book is Clay Jenson who is one reason why Hannah killed herself.
    On my new partner book i read a 36 pages and i really like this book and it was my first choice. I think my book is very interesting and i cant wait to see who the 13th person who caused Hannah Bakers death. Yes i really like my book. I like this book cause it has a lot of drama in it. THANK U

  23. The title of my book is A Step from Heaven.Tonight I read pages in my new book.

    Note1:The main character of this book is Young Ju.
    She a type of girl that like religious, and thing that a magic word “Mi Gook” would stop a fight between her friends.
    Note2:I think that this word that Young Ju says, may change few of her problems in life as with friends.Also the things about heaven tells the readers that beliving in heaving can make a huge change.
    So far I like my book but it may be confusing like things that the main character tries to talk about when is heaven.As soon i get use to this book I would start to love it.I think it may be confusing now, but I would soon get to understand this fantastic book.

  24. The title of my book is A Step from Heaven.tonight i read 15 pages in my new book.

    Note1:Young Ju said “Mi Gook” is a majic word that makes Uhmma and Apa stop fighting.I think that the word has something to do with a place or what the word means because it helps them stop fighting.

    Note2:Young Ju is moving is moving to a place called Mi Gook which is the same word that helped Uhmma and Apa stop fighting.So that means that the place Mi Gook is a reminder that they should stop arguing.

    So far i do not like my partner book because i thought that it was going to be about something that has to do heavens because of the title.I also like it because it has interesting details about the main character and where she lives.

Leave a Reply

