Monday April 12, 2010 – Test Reflection Post

How'd it go today?

Hi Guys!

Sorry this blog is going up late, and thank you to those of you who called to check about the blog. I just finished meeting with all of the 7th grade teachers, so the blog is late. I’m sorry!

As a result, let’s keep it easy today:

CRITERIA FOR SUCCESS:

1. Username. Title. Author.

2. I read _______ pages tonight.

3. Briefly summarize your reading. (3 sentences please)

4. Tell me about the test today. How did it go? How did you do? Why do you think you earned the score that you did? What can you do FROM NOW ON to get that score higher?

Happy reading and happy blogging!

Love,

Stabookski

27 thoughts on “Monday April 12, 2010 – Test Reflection Post

  1. markos2015 i am reading the hunger games by suzanne collins and i read 26 pages. katniss and peeta have teamed up becuase of the new rule,2 can win. they have kissed and they just do it becuase they are acting to be madly in love with each other.peeta is very badly wound with bruises stings and a cut on his right leg and its to the bone.todays test was ok becuase i had not been paying attention but i did the first 3 passages. i really want the double4 so i am going to really try to stay awake. (i want to throw the pie at u becuase ur the rading teacher and i love reading)

  2. Kdozier2015. Kendra. I read 24 pages tonight. In those pages Kendra is kind of getting along with her mother Renée. She has just moved and Renée is trying to figure out her reason while she’s here. Renee has to take Kendra to the doctor to make sure she’s still a virgin but she’s not. The test went well for me it felt kind of quick and I like that. It went well I didn’t get the results I wanted back. I wanted a 4 I got a 3. I think I earned this score because I didn’t highlight proof for every question like I should have. I have to block the answer choices and choose the ones that make the most since to me. I can also highlight the most proof so I’m confident in my answer.

  3. Angeline2015: I’m reading The Misfits by: James Howe. Tonight, I read 30 pages. In tonight’s reading, I read about the new character introduced which was Helomy nameis Steffi. Once he joined the group, a new girl was made which was no losers allowed. Posters were put up that said, ” Vote for the NO- NAME PARTY- End name- calling once and for all! president: Addie Carle Vice President: Joe Bunch Treasurer: Bobby Goodspeed and Secretary: Skeezie Tookies.”
    I think the test went really good. I was happy with my score even though I think I can aim for a higher score. I think one of the main reasons I got a high score was because I followed my MAP goals. I made sure I read the questions first and I made sure I didn’t guess in the passage. I am aiming for a much higher score for tomorrow on the listening section.

  4. sammy2015: I am reading I’d Tell You I Love You But Then I’d Have To Kill You by Ally Carter. I read 20 pages tonight.         Cammie really is interested in Josh but Josh seems to sending her mixed signals. Josh seemed at first to be embarrased by her beause once his friend asked him who was the girl, Cammie, and he just said “it’s just some girl I met.” I think Cammie will fall in love with him but I am guessing something will happen that will end their relationship. I think her spy secret will be revealed. Today’s test was a bit tricky for me in some parts. I forgot to follow your method Ms.Stabrowski. SORRY! I now know I have to remember to use it. I was a bit disappionted with the grade I recieved. I got an 84% and I know I could have done much better if I tried harder. Next time, I will take more time on my test and focus more. 

  5. lourdes2015: I am currently reading The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold. I read 25 pages. Tonight, I read about how Susie watches her family get older. At this point, Lindey is 21 and Buckley is 13. Susie feels sadder in heaven knowing she will never get older like Lindsey. After their mother left them, their grandmother came to take care of them. She began to raise Buckley while Lindesy went off to college with her boyfriend, Samuel.
    Based on today’s reading test, I know I have to work harder on finding the best proof to find the answer. I got an 84% on the multiple section. Normally I get a higher score, so I have to try using the strategies more and reading the passages carefully.

  6. RV2015: The Ladies of the Lakes by Jennifer Allison.
    Tonight i read 25 pages. Tonight i read about how Gilda joins the schools paper The petunia and Leah Jones a writer writes about the knew addition to the paper. Though for no good reason because all the kids use the paper for is to clean themselves in the bathroom. Gilda keeps writing to her dad telling him about Brad moms crush and how he is a big stuck up trying to “buy his way into our lives.”
    Today after seeing my test score I was surprised
    because I thought I had done really well. I think that I fell a lot for the trick answers the test makers put. I also think that I didn’t find my best proof or I didn’t read carefully. With practice though I think i will do better on the test.

  7. Hello guys. Tonight I just read chapters 3-6 in Straem to the River, River to the Sea. In my reading tonight sacagawea just helped her friend Running Deer run away. No the man that captured, The Rock, sacagawea has decide to protect her. The Rock has bring scagawea to the good tribe where she would be protected. What I don’t understand is why is a man who killed her mother trying to protect her.

    On todays test I did good, but I know I could’ve done better than what I did. I think since I was tired that’s why I slacked a little on the test. I don’t know why but I thought I did better than what I got. Well next time I’ll get some rest and be ready to through some pie in ms. Kubagaw’s face. Yeah Ms. Kubagawa’s face. This is how my face would look 😉 This is how Ms.Kubagawa’s face would look:|

    • Nice last sentence…am looking forward to throwing some pie at Mr. Thomas =D…..though I can’t choose between him or others ;).

    • Dearest Daijah,

      While I KNOW you are joking, I just wanted to double-check to ensure that you are not planning on and are not going to ever consider throwing a pie at either your ELA teacher or your math teacher, given how much we (Ms. Stabookski and I) have been working to prepare the Class of 2015 for 100 percent. 🙂

      That, and you should really pick on a teacher your own size.

      Work Hard, Be _______,

      Ms. Kubs

  8. suni2015- Tonight I read the book The Hunger Games : by Suzanne Collins. In todays reading I read over 20 pages. In tonights reading I learn that Katniss and Rue become really good friends in the game. Also Katniss found out that the only reason why Rue trust her is because she has a pin that looks like a mockingjays. which reminds her of the old day in her district when she used to sing to a mockingjay bird she had as a friend. In the book Katniss and Rue are planning a way to take the carrers food, so they can starve of food. The test today was tricky, because I didn’t understand the passage of five point, i think that was the tittle. For me it didn’t go as well as I espected. I did a little not too good. I think I earn the score I did because I didn’t read the passage that well , and mostly because most of the passage had detail on different parts of paragraph, and I didn’t read well of what it mostly had prove on in the passage. What I can do from now on to get score higher is to read the passage very carefully, and to know what it is mostly about.

  9. Janibell2015- Im reading the book Girl 15 by Sue Limb. I read 33 pages tonight. I read about how Jess wants to gain more trust with her parents. Her dad was paranoid because of how she was alone with Flora, Ben, and Mackenzie in her house. Her mom also wants her to only hang out with girl friends because they are worried that boys will try to do something with her.

    I think that the test today was ok. I dontthink it was easy because some of the answer choices were confusing. The passage about Five Points confused me the most because the content was all over the place. Next time, i will eliminate the answers that dont relate to the passage or the question.

  10. Heyy. Tonight I read 20 pages of getting the girl. Tonight I read that Cameron was talking to Ruben’s girlfriend. I didn’t turn out to well. Turns out that she was only talking to him because, she was waiting for Ruben. In my opinion I would have felt bad because it was pretty obvious that he had a crush on her.
    I think that I scored a 73% on the test because I got tricked – up on a few questions that had related answers. I think that since now I know what I did wrong I will know what to do on the real test. I think that I also didn’t take it seriously because I knew it wasn’t the real test. I hope that tomorrow I will do better on the listing section.

  11. My name is ashley 2015 and I am reading a book called a child called it ! I read 20 pages tonight and my retail about this book so far from what I have read is a young boy which his mother calls him it because he is so shy and doesn’t talk. He gets abused dayin and day out by his mother and he really wishes that his mother would feed him normally, and take care of him like a real parent should ! I did an okay job on my test today with a 76 percent . I think that for me some of the questiond weren’t stated as clear as possible or the answer choices . Hopefully tommorow I get a much higher score !

  12. Tonight I have read 20 pages and I am reading Marley by John Grogan. I read about how johns dog Marley is very important to their family. I also read about how john’s family does everything with their dog and Marley likes to play baseball with her family. Today’s test was easy and hard at the same time. I did in the middle because sometimes I rush right through the test thinking that I wouldn’t have enough time to finish. I earned a low score, but close to a low 3 and I think I earned that because I skipped questions so I had a lot to go back to. What I can do t improve is try to o slower while reading the passages and I also can try to re-read the passage over and I think it would help me more.

  13. Keema. The title of my book is “SOLD”byPatricia McCORMICK. I read a total of 23 pages . Tonight i read that Lakshmi is trying to runaway, but the question is will she runway and not get cought. I believe that Lashmi is a troubled 13 yr old and will seek revenge on her stepfather for what he did to her.I if you were in Lashmi foot steps would you do this to support your family?

    I thought that the test to day was kind of easy,little trick questions.I think i did an okay job i got a 3 , but i could have gotten a better score.I think the reason why i earned this score is b/c i did not re-read all of the question to the full intent of my understanding.I can re-read the question to make sure i understand and make sure i find the best proof

  14. Kai2015:Tonight I read a book called Streams to the River, River to the Sea. I read 30 pages and I read more than the assigned reading. Today I read that Tall Rock, the man who captured Sacagewea, decided to take her to another Minnetaree tribe ran by Le Borgne. Black Mocassins son, Red hawk wasn’t interested in Sacagawea at all so Tall Rock took her away to another camp. Sacagewea ended up meeting Le Borgne and now Tall Rock is interested in her and so is Le Bornge.

    Today the test was, on average,an okay test. It wasn’t the hardest test but it wasn’t the easiest. I wasn’t happy with my score today but I now know what i need to improve on. I think that the Class Of 2015 and I will all get a 3 or a 4 on the math and ElA test because we did it last year and if we work hard again we will do it again 😉 🙂

  15. My name is justin2015 and I am reading Sammy by Matt Birkbeck. I read 20 pages today. I read that Sammy has insurance policy with Lloyd’s of Lodon. Also that his dad’s jewelry might be lost or stolen. When Cater given Calvin a letter to read he was shocked of what he wrote. The test was kind of easy and I think I did good. I think I got the grade because I did all the things I was supposed to do and some of them I didn’t pick the best answers. I would get my grade higher by not getting distracted when I do the test.

  16. Gianni2015. The Carbon Diaries. Today I read 30 pages and I found out that Carbon fells like nobody really cares about him especially his parents becaus e they are always leaving by him self at home and, they are never telling him where they are going they don’t even take him on vacations. If you were put in his shoes you would practically be spending your teenage years raising yourself. This is really bad because hewillmake mistakes and he wont have anybody to learn from whenhe makes mistakes.
    Today I felt good about the test because i got a 100% on the multiple choice because I followed all of the things Ms.Stabrowski taought us about rtp tests. What I can do to get higher test grades is keep using her methods and and keepusing her strategies to get higher grades.

  17. Hello! I read chapters 4-6 of Streams to the River, River to the Sea. In tonight’s reading, Running Deer escaped from the Minetaree’s camp. Also, Tall Rock showed his real feelings for Sacagawea. He may like her (keep in mind Sacagawea is 13 and Tall Rock is a grown man) and takes her to a different Minataree camp to meet some of his friends.
    For the ELA practice, my grade was lower than I excepted. When I was taking the test, I didnt have the slightest clue that my grade would be as low as it was. It wasn’t a terrible, awful grade, it just wasn’t my best compared to my usually 90s and 100s. What I should do next time is keep all of my focus directly on the test. also, I should double check and even triple check my work to ensure I get the highest grade possible. I had finished with a few minutes to spare, and yet I didnt really check my work to my fullest ability.

  18. My user name is jasonb2015 and I’m currently reading “Go Ask Alice” by an anonymous writer. Tonight, I read a total of 21 pages. In tonight’s reading, Chris and Alice become very good friends and Chris’s friends Richie and Ted, sell drugs along with Alice. Alice regrets though selling LSD to an elementary kid and decides to not sell it anymore and Chris and her go to San Francisco to find jobs, leaving Richie in accusation of selling drugs;mainly because Richie and Ted were found having sex and Alice was jealous, who had the temptation to have sex with Richie. While in San Francisco, Alice works in a jewelry store under the ownership of Mr. Mellani and Chris works at a boutique, under the ownership of Sheila. Soon, Mr. Mellani invites Alice and Chris to a dinner and then Sheila invites them to a party. All of them really seem to bond together and treat themselves like a whole family.

    In today’s reading, I did well, but knowing myself, I was upset that I did not get the grade that I wished for and knew that I could do better.I probably got that grade because some of the questions were really tricky and the answer choices really messed me up. I felt that there was more than just one answer choice correct, but couldn’t choose the right answer choice. From now on, I’m going to start reading the passages more carefully and re-reading the questions to make sure that my answer is correct. Also, I will start to eliminate answer choices that I know are definitely not the correct answer.

  19. I am reading the Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan. Tonight I read 25 pages. I read that at first, Percy sends an iris-message to Tyson and learns about what he does, which is forging weapons. After that, Percy relaxes with his technical family, Artemis, Annabeth, Nico, and Bianca. For some reason, Luke appears out of nowhere and when Percy wants to tell Artemis that he’s a traitor but he can’t do it. Honestly I thought it was really easy and i did good. I got 92% but I think that taking my time will help my grade go up.

  20. HELLO ORLANDO G 2015 HERE . TODAY I READ THE BOOK WE ARE ALL READING IN HISTORY CLASS CALLED STREAMS OF THE RIVERS ,RIVER OF THE SEA. TONIGHT I READ ABOUT 18 PAGES AND I READ ABOUT HOW SACAGAWEA ESCAPED WITH THE MAN THAT CAPTURED HER AND KILLED HER MOM,TALL ROCK, BUT SHE ESCAPED FROM THE BAD MINNETAREE’S RULED BY BLACK MOCCASIN THERE SHE MEETS A MAN BY THE NAME OF LE BORGNE WHO IS THE CHIEF OF THE THE OTHER MINNETAREE TRIBE BLACK MOCCASIN AND LE BORGNE ARE ENEMIES.NOW BOTH TALL ROCK AND LE BORGNE WANT TO MARRY SACAGAWEA
    I FOUND THE TEST TO BE A LITTLE DIFFICULT FOR ME I DON’T KNOW WHY BUT IT SEEMED THAT EVERYONE HAD SOME ISSUES WITH THE TEST IN MY HOMEROOM.I THINK I EARNED THE SCORE I EARNED BECAUSE I WASN’T REALLY CONCENTRATED AND WHEN I TRIED TO GET FOCUSED I EITHER GOT A LONG PASSAGE OR A HARD QUESTION BUT IN ALL I’M NOT PROUD OF MY SCORE BUT I DID DO PRETTY WELL . WHAT I’M GOING TO START DOING FROM NOW AND ON IS THAT IM GOING TO TRY AND FIND ALL OF MY PROVE AND TRY TO GET MORE FOCUSED THEN I WAS TODAY.WASN’T REALLY ON TASK SO I HAVE TO FIX THAT.

  21. krod2015.Ghost Town.Annie Bryant. Today i read a total of 23 pages. So far in this book, i read that one of the Beacon Street Girl has fallen in love with a boy. The girls say that its “true love”. The boy and one of the girls met with each other, as they were heading out of town. Well that all i read for today. Im almost done with the book. Three more chapters to go.:-)

    Todays test was kind of in the middle. When we put the answers in the thing in writing class, i noticed that i got a low score. The questions that i answer didnt seem so hard, but i guess the test maker cought me in their trap. Hopefully i get a good grade on tomorrows test. I’ll just keep on trying and never give. I’ll make sure that i take my time on reading carefully, and use the tipes you gave us.

Leave a Reply

