Post 1 and Criteria for Success

Please follow the model in writing your first blog today:

My user name is stabookski. I am currently reading Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott. In my reading this evening, I learned about how the book got its title. The narrator (Anne) has a younger brother who, when they were younger, had to write a report about birds of Northern California. He was overwhelmed by the project and his father’s advice was, don’t worry just take it bird by bird. The book is about writing, so the title makes sense. For today’s skill, we are working on questioning. My THICK questions about my reading are: 1) How closely does Anne follow her own advice for becoming an excellent creative writer? 2) From where does Anne get most of her inspiration to write? 3) How has writing affected or changed her life — personally and professionally?

CRITERIA FOR SUCCESS…

1. Identify yourself with your username.

2. Tell us what you are currently reading.

3. Briefly (in 2-3 sentences) explain what you read about this evening.

4. Introduce today’s skill by writing, “For today’s skill, we are working on questioning.”

5. Ask 3 THICK questions about your reading.

Good luck and have fun!

Love,

stabookski

18 thoughts on “Post 1 and Criteria for Success

  1. my name is ashley, and the book I’m reading is In Their Shoes, and the author is Deborah Reber. My thick question is, that Does the job you work have tell how much money you make or how your economic class will be? My answer to my question is that yes , because based on my mothers job , she is a transit worker and she’s not rich . so i believe that that is also its true!

  2. My name is ashley2015 (ashley)
    The book that i read tonight was The Notebook of Melanin Sun by Jacqueline Woodson. Today the main character Melanin’s mama is going out on a date with a man and you can tell that he is a little about what he feels about it. His mother s in the shower and he yells never trust a man who’s late and doesn’t even phone that means he doesn’t care about you. This tells me, that does not like the fact that his mother is going on a date. I can predict that when the man does get to his house that Melanin is not going to like him at first and he is going to be questioning him as if he were on an interview. Maybe his mother will end up going out dating this man for a long time and then that will bring a male figure into his life. So, if this date stays in his mothers life than maybe him and Melanin will become the best of friends.

  3. angeline2015: I am currently reading Bratfest At Tiffany’s. Tonight i read that the girls want to have a room that only they can go into. They want a big room that has everything and a big sign in the front door that says no boys, no teachers , no parents just us, just the new preety comittee! One question i’m answering is, are the girls getting more priviledge now that they are in 8th grade? My answer is yes because now they get to choose the room they want to be in and they feel more mature.

    Reply

  4. angeline2015: I am currently reading Bratfest At Tiffany’s. Tonight i read that the girls want to have a room that only they can go into. They want a big room that has everything and a big sign in the front door that says no boys, no teachers , no parents just us, just the new preety comittee! One question i’m answering is, are the girls getting more priviledge now that they are in 8th grade? My answer is yes because now they get to choose the room they want to be in and they feel more mature.

  5. DD2015: What I just finish reading is that the brothers are now falling down to the dump. Both of them need a job to stay in their house and to not get beat up. I feel sorry for them if they were my friends I would truly help them, and I won’t beg them to pay me back my money. The question I had yesterday was, 3) what will the do about the money the owe people? What I think they are going to do is the worst because they both smoke. I think they are goin to sell drugs to get money, but that is worst for them. They should go out of the country and go into the city and find a job.

  6. My user name is mm2015. I am currently reading All I Want is Everything: A Gossip Girl Novel. This book is about a group of rich high-school seniors who live in the downtown area of New York City. They all have a verity different problems. For example, Blair and Serena are trying to be careful not to lose control at a “fancy” celebrity party, Dan is trying to make sure that if he loses his virginity, its with the right girl and at the right time, and some are even trying not to get mixed up with celebrity relationships. The three questions that i have often been coming back to are: – Why is Dan so worried about his virginity? -How does Blair feel about Nate,her ex-boyfriend, braking up with her for a girl many years younger then him? -Why is Serena flirting with Flow,a celebrity, in the first place?

  7. My username is Jani2015. The book I am currently reading is Learning Game By Kevin Waltman. This book is about a teenager who is forced to choose between he sport he loves and his personal life. Even though he is good at shooting, he needs some help with other skills in basketball. He doesn’t know if he should be puttinq aside his girlfriend and even his brother for basketball. For today’s skill we are working on questioning. Three questions I have are: What would you do if you were torn between your personal life and your favorite sport? Do you believe that Nate is doing right by forgetting about his girlfriend and playing the game? Why do you think the highschoolers are happy that the college students left for the month?

  8. My Username is Jani2015. The book I am currently reading is Learning The Game By Kevin Waltman. This book is about a teenager who stuggles with basketball even though, he is good at shooting. He is forced to choose between his personal life and basketball. The highschoolers are happy that it’s open season so they don’t have to deal with the college kids. For today’s skill, we are working on questioning. Three questions I have are: What would you do if you had to choose between your personal life and your team in the sport you love best? What does basketball symbolize for Nate? How do you think Nate should deal with his problems in the team and in his personal life?

  9. My username is lourdes2015. The book I am currently reading is The Outcasts of 19 Schuyler Place by E.L. Konigsburg. This book is about
    a girl, Margret, who is put into a summer camp she doesn’t want to be in while her parents are in Peru for vacation. The girls in her cabin (calls them the Meadowlarks)makes her hate it more. She is relieved when her uncles finally take her out of it. For today’s skill, we are working on questioning. My 3 questions are: how does she feel after getting out of that camp? How did she feel when she was constantly accussed by the Meadowlarks? What will happen when her parents find out she left camp?

  10. My user name dd2015, and I’m currently reading That was Then, This is Now. This book is about how two brothers stay close together. Now that they are both growing up they are starting to be separated., but still holding on. I have three questions. 1) What is making them separate? 2) How can they be separating if they live in the same house? 3) What will the do about the money the owe people?

  11. My user name is jasonb2015. The book that I’m currently reading right now is Hush by Jacqueline Woodson. This book is about a girl named Toswiah Green, who has to leave her past life and leave all traces behind. This is mainly because of her father, who is a policeman and testifies against a fellow officer in a murder case. Toswiah has to leave her hometown, Denver and change her name to Evie Thomas. For today’s skill, we are working on questioning. Three main questions that I have about my independent reading novel are how will Toswiah’s life change now that she has to leave her past life behind? Also, how will Toswiah’s perspective about her dad change throughout the story? Finally, how will growing up in a different place than what Toswiah is used to affect her life as a teenager?

  12. I am reading New Moon and it is AMZAZING!I love how Stephenie Meyer involves action with romance at the same time. Bella is competely in love with Edward and is forced to pick between her safty or her love. For Bella it isnt much of a question that goes through her mine because the love she feels for Edward is so big that she is risking every thing for him. Not only is this going on in her life but also she has to pick between Jacob or Edward . Edward is a vampire and Jacob is a warewolve. Both of them dont like each other but they have somthing in common they both want to be with Bella. Bella sees Jacob more as a friend and thats it, but she really has feeling for Edward. If i were to ask bella any question i would ask her if she ever regrets getting herself about picking Edward over her safty. I would also ask her if she ever feels like she should pick Edward over Jacob. Bella is stuck between two really nice guys who care about her and will do any thing for her fighting for her. Which one will she pick? I s she going to stay aloneor ids she going to pick one of them?

  13. My username is Arsh2015, and I am currently reading Party Princess, by Meg Cabot. It is about a girl named Amelia, and her father died. She soon finds out that her grandmotheris coming from Genovia, and to tell her news. She is a princess!!!! She can’t believe it. For today’s skill, we are working on questioning.So far, my 3 think questions are:
    -How dose Amelia show happiness when doing something she dosen’t like?
    – What is Meg Cabot’s opinon on being free, and doing what your heart tells you (picking right from wrong)?
    -How dose the Genovian customs affect Amelia, and her mothers life style?

  14. My user name is ClarissaC2015. The book I am reading is Lush by Natasha Friend. This book is about a girl in the seventh grade who has a father with a drinking problem. Her mother doesn’t do anything about it. She is dealing with this problem alone and basically doesn’t want to tell anyone about it. Three thick questions that I have is : 1) How does the main character feel about her father’s drinking problem? 2) How come she doesn’t tell anybody about her father’s problem? and 3) What does her mother feel about the drinking problem?

  15. My user name is angeline2015. The book I am currently reading is Bratfest At Tiffany’s by Lisi Harrison. This book is about a group of girls that are getting ready to go back to school. They go to a cafe and there they discuss about how their summer was. Three questions i have is why doesn’t Massie trust her friends and tells them how she feels?, Why is everyone getting punished just because the school is flooded? and are the girls getting more priviledge now that they are in 8th grade?

  16. My user name is ae2015. The book that I am currently reading is Revenge and Forgiveness by Patrice Vecchione. This book is mostly a book that has characters like Rilke,Sarah, and Jade that express their feelings through poetry. They write poems about events in their life and and teir relationship with certain people. Three questions I have are why do these characters use poetry to show their emotions? What do poems represent to the author? Why do the characters usually have sad emotions.

  17. My username is zdavis2015 the book I am currently reading is, Crystal, by Walter Dean Myers. this book is about a young girl who is a model but is forced to do something she doesn’t want to do. She is 16 years old. The main character, Crystal, soon learns that her modeling career is just begining to be about her body. Three question I have for tonight is what does her parents think about her career? Who struggles the hardest, her parents or Crystal? When will her modeling boss ever think about her and her feelings

  18. My username is MArgey2015 the book that I am currently reading is ,The Fortelling,by Alice Hoffman.The book is about how the women and the men are separated and have many wars, The Men believe that the woman are not worth much and the women believe the men are not worth much either. The men want to destroy the women and keep all that they own like their horses and their lives. I also read how Rain (The main character)does not get much attention from her mother. One question I have is how do you think that Rain feels about not getting enough attention from her mother?Another question I have is Do you think every women wants to have war with the men or live in harmony with them?my last question is how would you feel if you were kidnapped from your hometown by your enemy?

Leave a Reply

